- Google is enabling Chrome’s “Always Use Secure Connections” setting for all users by default.
- Chrome will now warn users before connecting to insecure HTTP websites, giving them a chance to back out.
- Chrome won’t repeatedly warn users about approved HTTP sites, and Google says most users are unlikely to encounter these warnings anyway.
An optional Chrome toggle that was first introduced back in 2022 is now being automatically enabled for everyone. Last year, Google announced its intention to make Chrome much safer for everyone, saying it would do so by prioritizing secure HTTPS connections when browsing the web and by warning users about websites still using the older HTTP protocol. Fast-forward to now, and Google is making good on that promise.
The tech giant just confirmed that Chrome’s “Always Use Secure Connections” setting, which was enabled for users enrolled in Chrome’s Enhanced Protection mode of Safe Browsing earlier this year, has now become a standard part of the browsing experience.
